The ATHENA Award is an international award program that honors women who strive to serve as a mentor or role model for helping women reach their full leadership potential. ATHENA’s also demonstrate excellence, creativity, and initiative in their business profession while providing valuable service by devoting time and energy to improve the quality of life for others in the community. Women of Accomplishment is a program created out of the DeKalb Chamber that recognizes retired women who continue to be a leader and mentor within the community and exemplify the traits of ATHENA.

ATHENA finalist nominations and letters of support are sent to other Chambers of Commerce within Illinois that have long-standing ATHENA programs to score and decide each year’s recipient. See below for past ATHENA recipients!

Presented By


Congratulations 2023 ATHENA Recipient!


Michelle Bringas

Director of Asian American Resource Center at Northern Illinois University

Meet Michelle

2023 Celebration Sponsors


2023 Media Sponsors


Celebrating 34 Years!

View past ATHENA Award recipients below.