Congratulations 34th ATHENA Award Finalists & Women of Accomplishment Honorees

The DeKalb Chamber of Commerce congratulates the 34th annual ATHENA Award finalists presented by DeKalb Sycamore Chevrolet Buick GMC: Celine Bennetts (Mary Kay Cosmetics), Michelle Bringas (Northern Illinois University – Asian American Resource Center), Karen Federici (Family First Women & Children’s Healthcare), Mary Freeman (FNBO), and Cortney Strohacker (DeKalb County Convention & Visitors Bureau).

The ATHENA Award is an international award program that honors women who strive to serve as a mentor or role model for helping women reach their full leadership potential. ATHENA’s also demonstrate excellence, creativity, and initiative in their business profession while providing valuable service by devoting time and energy to improve the quality of life for others in the community. 

In addition to ATHENA finalists, Lynn Neeley and Nancy Proesel are 2023 Women of Accomplishment honorees. Women of Accomplishment is a program created out of the DeKalb Chamber that recognizes retired women who continue to be a leader and mentor within the community and exemplify the traits of ATHENA.

ATHENA finalists and Women of Accomplishment honorees will be recognized at the ATHENA Award Reception on October 19th at the Egyptian Theatre. The 2023 ATHENA Award recipient will be named on award night. Supporters of the finalists and honorees are invited to attend. Registration will be available soon at

Submit A News Item

"*" indicates required fields

Accepted file types: jpg, png, webp, Max. file size: 1 MB.
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.